How spicy do you like it? 2 Fer Tuesdays at Wild Wing Cafe!

Before I describe one of my favorite Tuesday food experiences, both from a culinary perspective and as a fantastic deal, let me provide a little background.

This past summer was defined by my friends and I systematically poisoning ourselves by growing and eating exponentially hotter peppers. We started with “mild” jalapenos, padrones, and dragon cayennes; escalated to heirloom lemon peppers and habaneros; jumped to Bhut Jolokia peppers (Ghost peppers); and then finished off with Trinidad moruga scorpion peppers. If you are unfamiliar with the Scoville unit for peppers, a jalapeno is about 3,000 to 8,000 units, a habanero is ~300,000, a bhut jolokia is ~1,000,000, and the Trinidad moruga scorpion pepper is ~2,000,000. We didn’t try the hottest pepper in the world, the Carolina Reaper, clocking in at 2.2 million units, but we built up our spice tolerance significantly and enjoyed the excellent flavors (ghost pepper chili or curry anyone?). At one point, I even ate an ornamental pepper just to prove that I could (in case you were wondering, it tasted terrible and burned like crazy).

When football season resumed in September, my love for buffalo wings was rekindled. Combine this with the fact that we were eating ridiculous levels of hot peppers, it seemed rather logical for us to see how far we could go by taking on the hottest wing sauces around.

After several months of exploration, I can safely say that my favorite restaurant for buffalo wings is Wild Wing Cafe. On any given Tuesday, sometime between 5pm and 10pm, you can probably find me at Wild Wing’s ordering the 2 Fer Tuesday deal: buy 8 wings, get 8 free. On a good day, I can even catch the end of happy hour (4-7pm) with great beer and food specials.

My go to combination for wings: “the slayer” (a 2 star hot garlic sauce) and “braveheart” (the hottest sauce they offer at 6 stars). I really do enjoy the pepper flavor and all the sauces are made from scratch!

wild wings 2 fer 8 (2)

My favorite happy hour starter: Bavarian pretzels with beer cheese dipping sauce… freshly baked, soft, buttery, and delicious!

wild wings pretzel (2)

Wild Wing Cafe is located at the Historic Amtrak Station, 820 W. Main Street, Charlottesville, VA.

Leave a comment